WZ Norm tournaments

The World Zone delegates have approved a change in our tournament structure by creating the Norm tournaments.

These are tournaments that provide ICCF norms and in some cases, WZ norms and titles.

The Norm tournament cycle does not create any new events but rearranges events that have been in existence since the WZ was created and were previously listed as part of the Promotion events. One of the events was renamed, besides this all event rules remain the same.

These are the specific changes:

  • The Norm tournaments include the Correspondence Chess Expert (CCE) events, the WZ Master norm events and the WZ GM norm events
  • The Correspondence Chess Expert (CCE) events replace the old Master class events that have now been renamed as such
  • Top 2 places in a CCE section advance to the WZ MN, top 3 places in a WZ MN section advance to the WZ GM norm events as usual
  • Winners of the Promotion Higher class advance to the CCE events
  • The Promotion class events now only includes the Open class and Higher class tournaments


  1. Wilson left a comment on February 9, 2022 at 7:45 pm

    Can you explain what is the difference between an “ICCF norm” and a “WZ norm”? Is the WZ giving separate norms and titles?

    Also, if one wins a WZ MN tournament with a result qualifying for a norm, do they earn both an ICCF norm and a WZ norm or how does that work? I don’t see it explained on this site. Thanks.

    • admin left a comment on February 11, 2022 at 12:14 am

      The WZ provides both ICCF and WZ norms. You may earn both ICCF and WZ norms, if you review our tournaments, you will see that WZ master and WZ grandmaster are local titles

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.